image

Well it’s clear to say that I think this is one of my best cheese sauces to date! Here is how I achieved it: First of all I started with melting a knob of butter on a low heat and then adding a tablespoon of flour and combining it in to a roulade! I usually add a little salt n’ pepper to taste now! Then always take off the heat to add a little milk as the sauce thickens and back on the heat each time – never stop stirring or your sauce will become lumpy! Don’t worry, if it does … Take sauce of the heat and beat with whisk until lumps are gone! Add about 2-3 teaspoons of mustard (I used Colman’s) and stir into sauce. Finely grated cheddar cheese (cathedral) about 200grams should do the trick, save half for later and stir in. If your not serving this straight away I leave the other half of cheese until moments before pouring! I think adding the cheese before serving gives the sauce a little bit more texture! Serve with ham (boiled or roasted), roasties and veg of your choice!

Leave a Reply

