Centotre, George Street, Edinburgh

I always love going to Centotre because there is always something new and exciting on their seasonal menu!

When I heard that the calamari was back for the month of August due to popular demand I was jumping at the chance to tuck in!

Hubbie and I went along on Tuesday just past.  We were welcomed by a glass of Prosecco, which was a gesture of thanks!  

I obviously choose the Calamari Con Zucchini which was Pan fried fresh Scottish squid, Italian courgettes, mint and Amalfi lemon, served with garlic bruschetta.  Hubbie choose Speck Di Prosciutto E Pesche which was devine and fit for the summer!  I would order this one next time!

To follow we both ordered pizzas, very nice indeed.  I say one of the best you can get in Edinburgh!  He had the Formaggio Di Capra E Gialletti – Tomato Salsa, Fior di latte, chanterelle mushrooms, white Italian onions and fresh green chillies, and was all diary free! I choose the Piccante, which was spicy Italian sausage on top of Fior di Latte and tomato salsa

After the prosecco I ordered the cocktail of the month – Lampone Collins. Scot rasps, gin, creme de Framboise, Amalfi lemon and soda.  Another hint of summer!  Perfect for the sunny evening we had!

If someone asked me where to go for an Italian restaurant, I would say Centotre every time!

And it’s not just a great menu for dinner there is also breakfast and lunch too!  Hint: The bacon rolls are very good!!  Especially with a cappuccino!

And it was really nice to meet Lara too – name to a face, you know! 

Leave a Reply

