Spa Time!

Prepare yourself.  It’s time to relax and unwind.

But first of all I would like to thank Rachael aka @fightingfoodie for introducing me to this place via her blog post.  Without the knowledge of the offer nor the Spa, I would’ve just drove past it time after time! 

Driving down to Dirleton, East Lothian I find this entrance almost concealed if it weren’t for the big sign for the Archerfield Estate. Through the entrance and on the other side of the wall it’s almost like Narnia although there are no White Witches or Aslans to be seen, but rolling fields of the recently cut harvest.

As the car moves along the country lane, Archerfield House comes into view and a picture perfect sight it is (next time I’m down I will have to get a photo!).  A steady 20 mph is asked from signs as Deer can cross the road, unfortunately they were hiding so no photos of deer either!  But all in all the Estate has something about it. Something special.

We arrived (we meaning my Mum and I with this venture) and parked the car at the spa.  Now from the photos that I seen of the inside, the outside is totally different from it.  Totally!

image

We were greeted with a yogurt smoothie, slippers and asked to fill in a form about health issues – the usual norm.  Then shown to the changing areas to receive a warm white bathrobe and asked to wait in the relaxing area for our treatments.  Lets say the changing rooms are gorgeous, even though it’s a shower room come toilet. 

image

image

image

The relaxing area is tranquil and had Dido’s album softly playing in the background.  It is rather large but has a cosy feel about it and the lighting is set perfectly to create a stillness of ambiance.

Our therapists came to collect us and show us to the treatment rooms – wow wow wow … I felt I was in a 5 star hotel complex.  The interior design of the place just melts your heart into mush!

image

The treatments were lush.  Professional and friendly, the therapist, Caitlin put me at ease throughout.  I choose from 2 facials and opted for the cleansing and exfoliating as I thought my face needed a bit of TLC.  A lot of rose aromatherapy products were used but I love the smell of aromatherapy oils so didn’t mind smelling of rose for the reminder of the day!

The back, neck and shoulders located two tense parts on my body – so was a little sore when worked on, but worth it in the end!

Before the massage I got a foot soak … being pampered like a princess is a joy – could really get used to this VERY EASILY!

At the end of the session, the therapist wrote down all the products she had used on my face, which is helpful because there is no way I could remember what product was used for what!  And she also talked about the aftercare from the massage, which was “drink plenty to rehydrate”!

image

After the treatments, we were shown back to the relaxing suite were there was water to rehydrate us (very important to drink after massages) and a small portion of fruit and casrew nuts. 

And then came afternoon tea … a small selection of sandwiches (thank goodness no egg!) and a cake feast to suit any girl who loves cakes!  All very delicious with a tea of choice.

image

We were lucky enough to get “Spring into Summer” offer from Archerfield Estate (see link for website)  that runs until the 30th of September 2013.

I love this place.  I will be back.  This lady is one very happy relaxed lady!

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

