The secret is out!

I’m talking about the newly opened Secret Herb Garden along from Old Pentland, Lothianburn!

Stacked full of herbs and my goodness there are a lot of herbs choose from.  This place is totes amazing!  It’s got a Café, a wee shop full of goodies, a massive greenhouse pack with herbs and which you can acquire a comfy armchair to have the cake you choose from the cafe, then there is the small but funky room of old furniture for sale, the school where courses on plants and herbs will take place, pigs – yes I did say pigs and big ones at that and an orchard for fruit trees.

 

Herbs Galore!
Herbs Galore!

I think this place will be my new favourite spot as it’s got a lovely homely eccentric feel.  Plus the vast amount of herbs that I could go culinary mad in the kitchen with.

Find a comfy armchair in the warmth of the greenhouse!
Find a comfy armchair in the warmth of the greenhouse!

Plus the staff were all super-duper friendly and eager to help, plus answered all my herby questions too!  They even introduced me to the herb, Angelica!  Plus gave me tips on what parts of the herbs I could use.

A wee room just outside the school room
A wee room just outside the school room

 

My goodness – there are so many varieties of rosemary, thyme, lavender and mint, but wait – have you ever smelt cola grandeur odorata, pelargonium species?  Its smells exactly what it says on the plant card, yes it does!  Excited doesn’t even come to close to how I feel about this place.  I mean wow!  The homely feel must come the fact that this is run by Husband and Wife team, Hamish and Liberty.  And their passion just bounces through the place.

I purchased some new herbs - couldn't stop myself!
I purchased some new herbs – couldn’t stop myself! Honeydew Sage, Hidcote lavender, Rosemary and Jekka’s Thyme.

 

I can’t keep this place to myself so the next best thing is to share it.  You can find The Secret Herb Garden at 32A Old Pentland Road, Edinburgh. Also visit secretherbgarden.co.uk.

 

Leave a Reply

