Strawberry Feast

Since my younger years I’ve always remembered having strawberries in my life.  I used to go strawberry picking with my Mum and Brother at Lowe’s Farm, Near Dalkeith.  My Gran always made Jam with the strawberries from her garden, up in Aviemore, Highlands.  When I used to live at Shandon, Edinburgh (long before this blog) in our rented flat, I had one single strawberry plant on the window still that I picked at when it fruited during the summer.

Now we have a garden and ever since we moved in (5 years this November!!) I’ve established two strawberries beds and a strawberry tower.  I’ve given away some plants on free cycle from plants that i got using the new shoots from the existing plants.  I haven’t just got one variety, oh no.  There’s a mixture of ‘Cambridge Favourite’, ‘Honeoye’, ‘Elsanta’ and ‘Albion’ (and I’m sure there is another) in the boxes but I’m not sure of what is which since the new shoots went wild and became plants (I personally blame the weather for this!)!

Today was a good day for a shared bowl of chopped fresh strawberries from our garden.  Generally if  buying from the supermarket I usually add some icing sugar and lemon juice to them and mix until I get and nice syrup.  But since the are straight from the garden they ought to be as simple as can be and that’s au natural!

Fresh and picked by hand!
Fresh and picked by hand!

 

Close up of fruits
Close up of fruits
Chopped
Chopped
served in little glass bowls
served in little glass bowls

Perhaps instead of adding lemon juice next time to the supermarket strawbs, I might do a little gin exercise and add Edinburgh Gin’s Raspberry! Yeah that is defo going to be tried, tested and blogged about.  Or perhaps maybe elderflower gin?  Oh now there’s something!

 

Leave a Reply

