2014: Places for me

My relationship with food just keeps getting better and this year I’ve some very tasty dishes at some very niche places.  Also, one of my favourite pastimes is sitting in a coffee shop with a good flat white and usually something sweet to go with it.  So on this occasion I can give you a big handful of tips if you are looking for something particular or would like to try something new.

My favourite place in town right now for a flat white is Fortitude on York Place.  Every cup is perfected by the finishing touch of a Rosetta.  If I’m early enough I usually grab an almond croissant but if I’m not, it’s a slice of cake.  I love sitting either by the window or at the wee tables along the wall.  It’s a small place but has a steady stream of coffee addicts like me needing a much-needed caffeine hit.  They also sell soup too, which is supplied by the “oh so good” Union of Genius, so you can warm up on these cold days and you know it’s good soup if it’s Union of Genius’ soups!

Flat White & Cake
Flat White & Cake

 

Out of town and I’m heading to Steampunk Coffee in the sea-side town of North Berwick.  I usually buy their beans too so I can serve delicious coffees to myself at home!  They have delicious savoury muffins and also small selection of sweet bites too.  The flat whites here are also fantastic!  I love the “steam punk” interior with the roasting machine in view.  Every so often you get a waft of coffee and it’s heavenly!

Pink Peppercorn Brownie
Pink Peppercorn Brownie
Steampunk's funky flat white
Steampunk’s funky flat white

But now it’s not all at North Berwick and this saves me some pennies in petrol pennies and a life saver if the weather isn’t so nice to be beside the sea-side!  Poddingtons is a new coffee shop serving up Mr Eion’s beans but wait there – It’s a special Poddingtons blend that’s served and can be purchased in retail bags too.  I love the ease of getting here by car and parking and ordering one (or two flat whites).  Plus they serve one of my favourite ginger beers for digestive aid and they have such a great selection of sweet bites.  Not only sweet offerings as you will find delicious soups by the awesome Union of Genius (they do get about!!) and Breadwinner’s stromboli’s which are warmed through and served with a small side salad.

Every cuppa comes with a wee shortbread!
Every cuppa comes with a wee shortbread!
Lemon Bar
Lemon Bar
Breadwinner's Stromboli
Breadwinner’s Stromboli
Poddington's interior
Poddington’s interior
UoG's Zuppa!
UoG’s Zuppa!

Another place out-of-town and it’s handy if you have a car otherwise bus it to ikea and then walk along the road signposted to Damhead and you’ll end up at The Secret Herb Garden.  This place is magical for herbs of all kinds.  Earlier this summer I purchased a few herbs and I’m very pleased to see them relish in our new garden, although I’m hoping this cold weather won’t kill them.  Not only great for herbs, they have a small café where you can get a brew and either a delicious Quiche or cake (or if you can – both!).  I love coming out here and looking (and smelling) the herbs as well as chatting to the owners, Hamish and Liberty (they are very friendly and knowledgable!).

OR savoury?
Savoury or …
Sweet ...
… Sweet?

I can not mention Hula Juice Bar & Gallery.  This place has a vibrant and quirky feel.  The staffs are lovely – ok I know them from being Mrs C’s Cakes but this still has to be one of my favourite places in the city for lunch, yet I don’t get there that much!  The smoothies and coffees are delicious.  Just of recent I had a “Ginger Jack” and the soup & wrap combo, followed by their amazing hot chocolate with cinnamon & honey.  The “Ginger Jack” smoothie is made of carrot, apple and orange and a kick of ginger.  I think it helped my two-day hang over immensely …

Ginger Jack, chicken broth & Mexican wrap
Ginger Jack, chicken broth & Mexican wrap

Now burgers in Edinburgh this year have been nothing short of amazing with opening of Burger meets bun and Burger.  I still like going along to the Southern Bar for their options too.  It’s been a good few years since I tried Wannaburger, so I think I should change this in 2015!  I loved the pork coquette that was served in Burger meets bun –  a highlight for both me and Mr C!  I particularly like the milkshakes from burger as i can get vanilla and chocolate chips to curb my sweet tooth.  The fries from Burger win with me.  I love the burgers from Burger meets Bun and the seasonal offerings, Burger is a very close contender also.

BMB's Veggie Mushroom Burger
BMB’s Veggie Mushroom Burger
The "OMG" Pork amazing croquette :)
The “OMG” Pork amazing coquette 🙂
Love the quote on BMB's wall :)
Love the quote on BMB’s wall 🙂

Now I can’t stay away from the fact that I was lucky enough to jet off to Milan in June and then California in September.  Both trips we were very lucky with our food choices – In fact we were very spoilt and were in a flavour heaven!

Milan is such a beautiful city despite being very hot in June.  We visited Salsamenteria Di Parma twice,  I couldn’t get enough of the lovely creamy rich burrata and the cold meats. Osteria Qui da Noi was another great find out of a treasure trove!  Really true to the Milanese food and had a lovely chat to the owner too!

That famous mall in Milan
That famous mall in Milan
The main reason that we went to Milan: Pearl Jam !!
The main reason that we went to Milan: Pearl Jam !!
me & Mr C
me & Mr C
I dream of Burrata, not a genie!
I dream of Burrata, not a genie!

California oh California!  Still can’t get over the fact that I saw a sign for “7 avocados for $1” whilst driving through Moss Landing and your sweet, sweet tomatoes (my they were good).  My utter most favourite 3 places were: Socialé, Trou Normand and 4505 Burgers & BBQ.  The scenery was spectacular – so many photographs were taken but it can’t match the memories of what I experienced.

On the West Coast, PCH 101, CA
On the West Coast, PCH 101, CA
Trou Normand's charcuterie platter - delish!
Trou Normand’s charcuterie platter – delish!
The stunning world of orchids and a colour heaven at the Santa Barbara Orchid Estate
The stunning world of orchids and a colour heaven at the Santa Barbara Orchid Estate
Nemo at Monterey's Aquarium
Nemo at Monterey’s Aquarium
Beach heading to North from Santa Barbara along Route 101 aka PCH
Beach heading to North from Santa Barbara along Route 101 aka PCH
Sun rise at Joshua Tree National Park
Sun rise at Joshua Tree National Park
Every mouthful entirely enjoyed at 4505 Burgers & BBQ.
Every mouthful entirely enjoyed at 4505 Burgers & BBQ.

Back to Scotland we go and I have to mention The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore as I was blown away by the food.  The flavours were exceptional and the plate was well portioned.   It’s by the far, the best place to have a great meal in Aviemore and well worth every penny!  I will certainly be back there when I’m heading back up north to get some “fresh air” and creative mind.

Pudding at the Old Bridge Inn
Pudding at the Old Bridge Inn
Beautiful pork belly at the Old Bridge Inn
Beautiful pork belly at the Old Bridge Inn

So that’s my highlights of 2014, or least the foodie highlights!  I just hope there are going to be more in 2015!

I hope you have an amazing christmas and a very happy new year – cheers!

Me and an excellent coffee at Verve, Santa Cruz, CA
Me and an excellent coffee at Verve, Santa Cruz, CA

 

 

Leave a Reply

