It’s coming!

You can see it.  I see it.  The mornings are getting lighter and the evenings too.  Spring is on its way!

Having a look around my garden and the bulbs are coming up, but not quite in flower.  It’s so nice to see them sprout after all that bad wind and cold spells.  I have to admit that I do love seeing snow on the ground and seeing it on the Pentlands.  Can’t wait to see the dwarf irises, crocus, snowdrops and daffodils.  After all these come up, then the tulips will burst into colour!

little green shoots: bulbs!
little green shoots: bulbs!

However I have had this Hellebore in colour through out the winter.  It’s a lovely pink although I think it’s been crossbred from the other Helleborus in the garden as I can’t remember it from last year but it’s a nice surprise!

15836545104_e437749667_o
pink with a hint of cream: hellebore (christmas rose as my lovely Gran called them!)

The succulents which I planted late last year (a lidl purchase) are doing surprisingly well considering the frost we’ve had.  I also bought a massive bag of yellow daffs from Lidl too, so it will be interesting to see what comes up from that crop. On top of that there were crocus, snowdrops and white/yellow daffs from Aldi.  I’m getting very excited (and very impatient!!).

successful succulents
successful succulents

Grasses to me add an architectural element, movement and texture – I’ve added several miscanthus and other smaller varieties to add interest and a home for insects.  I love how the sun catches the ends of this one and then it sparkles in the wind.

sparkle power
sparkle power

Another plant that has kept on giving during winter is this heuchera.  I love the purple foliage and can’t wait to see it’s tiny delicate flowers.  I think it’s going to go quite well with the acers and the rudbeckia.

reminds me of ribena
reminds me of Ribena

One thing I really want to try this year is take cuttings of lavender and rosemary and make new plants.  I’ve been meaning to do this for a couple of years and let it slip.  I have packets of seeds all ready to sow, mostly perennials for a cut flower garden.  I’m thinking it’s going to be a bit like the BBC tv programme “The allotment” but we will see!

Leave a Reply

