March’s Recipe: Brocolli & Stilton Quiche

During the last month I’ve been dabbling with flavours for Quiche.  This has stemmed from the tomato and parmesan recipe that I found sometime last year and still is a firm favourite.  I’ve made a Pancetta & Mushroom Quiche using the same cream & egg quantities and I’m pleased to say it worked well.

I’ll talk you through what I did to make this cheesy brocoli & Stilton Quiche.

You’ll need:

For the pastry:

280 grams of plain flour

140 grams of cold diced butter (I used unsalted)

about 8 tablespoons of cold water

Blitz the flour and the butter in a food processor until fine crumbs, then add the water VERY gradually until the mixture becomes a ball – please note you may not need to use all the water!!

Then add a little flour onto the surface and roll into desired Quiche tin shape.

 

You gotta "Roll with it".
You gotta “Roll with it”.

As pictured below, I have a round one and a rectangular tin and go between the two just to keep it fresh!

 

one rectangular loose bottomed tin
One rectangular loose bottomed tin
The round loose bottomed tin
The round loose bottomed tin

Roll it thinly and slot into the tin.  Press pastry into sides and lightly prick the base using a fork.

LIGHTLY prick the base, otherwise you will have one seriously SOGGY BOTTOM!
LIGHTLY prick the base, otherwise you will have one seriously SOGGY BOTTOM!

Next, rest it in the fridge or freezer for 20 mins.  While it’s resting make up the Quiche “filling“.

After resting, blind bake the pastry case for 15-20mins at 180c, then take out the beans and parchment paper and bake for another 5-10mins until biscuit ‘golden’ brown.

I reuse my parchment paper, I've srunched up and unwrapped the paper so it blind bakes evenly (TIP)!
I reuse my parchment paper, I’ve scrunched up and unwrapped the paper so it blind bakes evenly (TIP)!
Here I'm using lentils and rice to blind bake.  I store them in a plastic bag and re-use them again and again.
Here I’m using lentils and rice to blind bake. I store them in a plastic bag and re-use them again and again.

For the Quiche “filling”:

7-8 broccoli florets – I used frozen and boiled them, let them cool and the cut them up into small pieces.

Little trees :)
Little trees 🙂

Chop/crumble up a whole Stilton, YES I did say a WHOLE Stilton.  Use half for the filling and the other half for the top!

Mmmm cheese!
Mmmm cheese!

Beat 2-3 medium eggs with a fork and then add 300ml double cream, beat again.

Beat these eggs!
Beat these eggs!
Then add some cream and "Beat it" again (cue MJ) ! :)
Then add some cream and “Beat it” again (cue MJ) ! 🙂

Add some season (salt&pepper).

Lay the cooled broccoli florets on the base in a neat manner, then scatter the first half of Stilton around, on, over the florets and base.

anyway you see fit!
anyway you see fit!
It's art!
It’s art!

Add the beaten egg and cream mixture.

 

More CHEESE!
More CHEESE!

Finish off with the remaining Stilton and pop back into the oven for 20-25mins at 180c.

Voila!

Ready for Slicing!
Ready for Slicing!

A good dinner or lunch dish that packs a cheesy punch!  I served it with some rocket, tomatoes and avocado for lunch – yummy!

Serving suggestion :)
Serving suggestion 🙂

Here’s a piccie of the original tomato & parmesan Quiche, using the rectangular tin …

JUST as yummy! :)
JUST as yummy! 🙂
Leave a Reply

