Oh Dahlia!

This was the more better worded phrase I choose to use instead of the countless times I swore at this pattern and dress!

OH DAHLIA!!
OH DAHLIA!!

To say it was a “beginner” pattern is far from the truth.  I’m happy now I’ve finished it (YES!!! I finished it!) but it was no easy taak without help.  Even with the book that was supplied with the pattern didn’t keep from going “what the heck?”.  My tutor at evening class even said it was tricky and she has loads of experience!

At least I now know how to do darts, gathering, bias trims, hems … but it’s been no easy ride.

What I’ve also learnt is to use a heavier cotton than what I used first.  This purple cotton fabric was quite light and flimsy at times.  Also its see through-ish, I’m not thinking a lining should have been used – oh well.

I’m loving the purple hydrangea fabric used on the end of the sleeves, neckline and middle.  It’s thicker than the main fabric too.

Back of Dress
Back of Dress
Close up of front and my squinting my eyes!
Close up of front and my squinting my eyes!
Dahlia Dress by Colette
Dahlia Dress by Colette

I will try this again, at least I know what I’m doing – well I hope I do!  But for now I’m off to start something different and easier (I hope!).  It’s a skirt by simplicity and it came with a magazine.

Simplicity 2224
Simplicity 2224

I’m going to go with “A” and hopefully I will have it all finished before I head to Amsterdam at the end of April.  It would be nice if I did!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

