Buttonhole!

A while ago I purchased this wee sewing machine from John Lewis and i couldn’t be happier!  It’s light enough to save me carrying my Brother machine to class and back and and it fits neatly into my bag too.

This morning I was practising making button holes for my skirt.  Since the JL mini doesn’t come with fancy attachments I quite literally just drew a line with chalk on some scrap material and sewed round it in a rectangular shape.  I was quite happy it turned out pretty well even if i say so myself and saved myself a few bob plus a trip up to the attic/hobby room where my Brother machine is stored.

My mini pink JL sewing machine! (top) and my first Botton hole made with it (bottom)
My mini pink JL sewing machine! (top) and my first Button hole made with it (bottom)

Now here comes the nerve-wracking part – sewing on the actual pattern piece.  I’m just going to go slowly on that part as I really would like a neat finish!

For the skirt, I’m using easy pattern and I’ve picked “skirt A” with pockets.  It’s been fairly straight forward, mind you the pockets were a bit of a drama as the instructions should be a little clearer.  I’m using the lovely hydrangea cotton fabric, designed by Fabric Freedom, leftover from the “Dahlia” dress.

Simplicity's 2224 Skirt
Simplicity’s 2224 Skirt

15829109193_9e5f161f87_o

Leave a Reply

