Thrifty!

So I had this “Walk In” Greenhouse up last year to house my Zucchini plants and it wasn’t that much of a success due to the wind lifting it up and blowing it about so the rope ripped part of the plastic and then the plants really didn’t come on at all compared to other years of successful crops.

imgres
not the ACTUAL walk in Greenhouse but a very close relative!

So this year I have these three veg boxes of which I have filled one with chard, beetroot and spinach and the other strawberries, the third one remains empty as it’s awaiting sweetcorn seedlings! ย To get to the point, I use the poles from the frame of the greenhouse to erect a smaller frame to allow the fleece to cover my tender, young seedlings.

This is the first time I've tried beetroot and swiss chard!
This is the first time I’ve tried beetroot and swiss chard!
Cross fingers for lots of STRAWBERRIES! :)
Cross fingers for lots of STRAWBERRIES! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m really patting myself on the back for this brain wave that I had yesterday, for it’s saved me a few ยฃยฃ’s shelling out for plumbing tubing that I was going to use with canes to make a big cloche! ย On that note, I saw a program with Alys Fowler demonstrating this exact idea ages ago and since then had it in my head ๐Ÿ™‚

Still to add the fleece =
Still to add the fleece = “work in progress”

Meanwhile over in the seed house things have started to sprout – Yipeee!!

garden-blog-

The peas are moving very quickly!
The peas are moving very quickly!
Can wait to fry these lightly in oil!
Can wait to fry these lightly in oil!
I dream of corn on the cob!
I dream of corn on the cob!

Watch out for more garden musings … oh YES, much more!

xx ๐Ÿ™‚

3 comments

  1. Great area for your plants, and looking forward to seeing them growing .. take care and happy gardening to ya,. from Laura

    • Thank you Laura! I’m so excited to see the green sprouts coming up! Can’t wait to plant them and then get harvesting! Will be planting flower seeds too! All prepped and ready to go! Happy Gardening to you too and have a great weekend!

      • Thanking you kindly, Emma… I’m so excited to get started too…

        Take care and happy gardening to ya, from Laura ~

Leave a Reply

