Amsterdaming – Part One!

This city is just magic to me.  I think it’s the pure ease of getting around that makes me all giddy.  Mr C has never been with me so I’ve had to force myself to learn which direction I should get the metro/tram/bus to which I’ve only got wrong twice by either getting the wrong direction or missing the stop!  It’s a city that I keep falling in love with for its charm, chill out vibes, culture and architecture.

This would be my third time being in this city for a wee break.  I’ve experienced it with my Mum and my Auntie.  We’ve explored several things on our trips but we have yet still loads to tick off!

However for this post I’d like to share our experience for this city break.

We arrived in the big city via the train from AMS’s Schiphol airport which has several departures to and from Amsterdam’s Centraal Station, we then took the metro to our accommodation for the next 4 nights.  For this adventure, we booked an Airbnb in the area called Oosterparkbuurt which was a quick 5-minute walk from the Wibautstraat Metro and the nearby supermarket and other amenities.  Our apartment was lovely and our host, Saskia was very helpful.

17124094588_b01e57d712_z
Bedroom (I got dibs on this bedroom) one and sitting area
17310051352_73eca0288d_z
The small but very adaptable kitchen
The AirBnB
Where Mum and Aunty slept

For eating on our first, second and last night we couldn’t get enough of the tapas from Tapas de Arroyo.  We all enjoyed the wine, food and service from this establishment.  Now, as you noticed we did not venture much to eat as it was really good, and the second night we looked around a few places and found that they were full due to the lovely weather!  The third night we ventured to an Italian, Sa Seada  – which to be really honest wasn’t that great and was quite a let down (see my review on yelp for more info if you desire!).

The lovely Tapas De Arroyo
The lovely Tapas De Arroyo
Some of the lovely dishes we ate at Tapas De Arroyo
Some of the lovely dishes we ate at Tapas De Arroyo

17379150736_d985933434_b

Our first full day was for visiting a tulip farmer and seeing his fields of tulips and then a visit to the Keukenhof Gardens.  This trip was organised by a tour company Viator.  It was well scheduled and the guide and driver were very helpful.  The tulips fields were lovely and the farmer was really passionate about his job and explaining what the bulb growing season entails, there was even a video and hot drinks (hot drinks cost €1) to warm up as it was a little breezy outside on the fields. 

Keukenhof is only open 2 months of the year but boy do they put on a flower display.  It’s like the garden of Eden – it’s spectacular!  We had a good few hours to wander around the gardens and took hundreds of photos.  I found out yesterday from someone that there were orchids in Greenhouses but that will have to wait for another year – Yes I would love to go back!

17321294275_241ff5fa83_z
Me!

17295324276_6d1a18d958_z 17135159189_d165acaf3e_z 17133526728_f782db54f6_z 17113856277_1b83666a2b_z

Glorious Keukenhof
Glorious Keukenhof

On that note, I’ll leave you and give you part 2 &3 another day!

6 comments

Leave a Reply

