Beans Review: Pact Coffee – Irmas Pereira Espresso

Just of recent I’ve signed up to Pact Coffee‘s subscription fortnightly service.  I could go for a bag once a week but decided I could refrain myself – I can always change it at a later date if I “need” more.  This way works well as I can still get coffee beans from my favourite coffee houses in Edinburgh (that itself is in this post) without having a massive stockpile!

My love of coffee started off with a mocha many years ago when I worked in a coffee shop at the airport.   One of my colleagues (lets call him Mr A and you know who you are!! πŸ˜‰ ) was trying to convert me to a coffee drinker (this was to help me in my job to describe coffees to customers, and later did I know it, get me hooked) and this was his way of doing it. Mr A has a lot to answer for but saying that I think he did well!

I would say in the last five years Edinburgh has a huge increase of independent coffee houses, offering amazing coffee blends from different roasters.  I usually pop into one of the many choices to grab a bag when I’m low on coffee.

So Pact sent me my first bag of coffee – Irmas Pereira Espresso. Between ordering time and despatch, – it was quick, which is good because no one likes waiting on coffee too long!

How it came – Simple brown packaging with a simple text – that’s how I like it.

My 1st Pact Coffee :)
My 1st Pact Coffee πŸ™‚
For all you coffee geeks/addicts – I choose the whole bean as I grind the beans as I use them.  I love opening the bag and taking a deep breath to take the fresh smells in and the lovely aroma that freshly grinded beans leave the house – I think Mr C could disagree as he doesn’t drink or like coffee!

The tasting notes are “chocolate chip cookie”.  And yes it’s spot on but there is definitely a nutty note like most Brazilian coffees.  So far so good and I could go and make some cookies to go with this whilst I drink it.  I would say also a slight maltiness like a malt teaser biscuit smell would maybe be in there with the smelling notes.

And take a deep breath in!
And take a deep breath in!
Ta Dah!  Cookies!

Chocolate Cookies
Chocolate Cookies
Coffee and chocolate go and hand in hand as much as wine and chocolate do … you see my weaknesses here?!! πŸ˜‰

Tasting Irmas was just a delight as was smelling it, if not even better.  Yeap. It’s up there for me, especially with the homemade cookies.

You could say I’m looking forward to what Pact send me next.  I’m at the edge of my seat with anticipation!

Disclaimer:  I have a subscription service with Pact coffee (so I buy it) and all opinions are my own!

2 comments

  1. You’ve only just signed up! I’ve been getting coffee from them for a couple of months but had to adjust to one a month as I wasn’t getting thru the coffee!! Sacre Bleu!!

    Date: Fri, 26 Jun 2015 19:01:42 +0000 To: fionanewhips@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

