Garden: Early July Musings

What!?! It’s July already! I still have some many ideas to action in the garden but I have to remain real and accept I can’t do them all this year and some will have to be ongoing long term, which just annoys me.  Anyways here’s what been happening in our green Eden;

Mr C. Cut the grass and trimmed the edges.  It’s his second time since getting the new mower.  Why is this a big deal?  I’ve ben doing in between and Mr C. doesn’t really do “Green Fingers”, but he does notice what’s growing on the veg patch and often impressed!

Looking down to the house with the lawn!
Looking down to the house with the lawn!

Strawberries are beginning to ripe, we’ve recently picked some that were all juicy and ready to eat and the flavour was simply delicious.

Really flavoursome: homegrown strawberries
Really flavoursome: homegrown strawberries

Our wee mini tomatoes are starting to ripen too, whilst the heirloom and other larger varieties are still flowering.

Wee mini ones!
Wee mini ones!
Check out the height!
Check out the height!

Flowering too, are the zucchini (courgettes), broad beans and peas.  Runner beans and dwarf beans have yet to still flower.

Can not wait to harvest the Zucchini!
Can not wait to harvest the Zucchini!

I’m going to plant the sunflowers out as they are now ready to go into the ground.  I’m really surprised how fast they grew from seed!  Can’t wait to see the yellow blooms!

Growing super fast!
Growing super fast!

At the same of planting the sunflowers (at the end of June), I started nasturtiums, blue poppies and cosmos.  They have been doing really well in the greenhouse.

Just this week, I put netting up for the climbers on the fence.  I did it all by myself!  I’m hoping that this will now encourage the jasmine, honeysuckles and clematis to now really grow up the fence!

Climbing frame for the climbers!
Climbing frame for the climbers!

Since putting the water butt in the corner, I’ve realised that the may have to move at the greenhouse tilts the other way.  And there isn’t much water in the butt from all the rain! This should only be a ten-minute job and will  hopefully rectify the water shortage in the butt.

One of my favourite flowers is the peonies.  Both the fragrance and the petals have elegance.  The have been blooming in succession  – I just want more of them in the garden!!

The Peony that's currently flowering!
The Peony that’s currently flowering!

The azalea which I named “Ralph” after my Grandad is blooming fabulously!  It’s like mini sunsets!

Mini sunsets!
Mini sunsets!

The wisteria is also flowering – finally!  I’m looking forward it rambling over the archway!

The wandering wisteria!
The wandering wisteria!

They are a few other jobs to do, but I’ll talk about that in the next update!

2 comments

  1. Looks fantastic! I just recently got an allotment (lots of work to do!) prior to that had a little plot. So much fun growing your own x

Leave a Reply

