Sewing: Getting back (finally!) on the thread bobbin ….

Wow.  It’s been a while since I took my stitch and finished a piece of clothing or some handmade sewing item.  Since then I’ve stacking up ideas in my mind and some on this blog.

Life’s factors have got in the way, but I’m not going to go into that right now. Let’s keep this post on the sewing topic 🙂

lets get sewing!
Let’s get sewing!
Ok. I’ve started attending a new sewing course.  It’s with Red Thread Studio, based in Edinburgh.  The course is to make my Christmas dress with the intention of actually wearing it to a party. Yes, WEAR IT!

So far, so good.  I’ve cut both bodice and skirt pieces from the pattern. We are all (8 of us in the class!) using the same design, which is Butterick B5748.  I can’t wait to see all of our finished dresses, each one of us has a different colour, and a couple of ladies have gone for a pattern!

But, hold on!  I’m making two dresses.  One, a green colour and the other a navy.  The idea of having the green with the split and the navy with a sparkle along the neckline.

The green stretch cotton fabric
The green stretch cotton fabric
The navy strech cotton fabric
The navy stretch cotton fabric
Oh!  Hang on … Make that three. Yes, 3.  It’s got a summery feel to the third one.  Using a floral pattern for the skirt and keeping the bodice part plain.  I’m still deciding what colour to go with for the bodice part – I’ve got a few options! I may even make a small clutch bag as I’ve leftover fabric … yes, another project!

Before you know it, summer will be here again (well I'm hoping)!!
Before you know it, summer will be here again (well I’m hoping)!!
Back to the Sparkle – I’ve bought two different dress trims, and I’m still deciding which one to use on my navy dress.  I bought them from Fabric Focus, Edinburgh.

Tradional pearls to add to the neckline?
Traditional pearls to add to the neckline?
Sparkles?
Sparkles?
The green cotton stretch fabric, green lining and navy lining was purchased from The Cloth Shop.  The navy stretch cotton was obtained from Minerva online.  Most threads are bought from The Cloth Shop, as well as the invisible zips.  The summery cotton fabric was purchased from the John Lewis store in Edinburgh.

Look out for the next part, which be the finished articles with me wearing them!  Oh gosh, I will need shoes to go with them!

emma signature

Leave a Reply

