Cakey Bakey Adventures: Gluten Free Citrus, Cardamom and Earl Grey Loaf

This recipe adaptation came about by pure accident as I had run out of ordinary plain flour and I only had gluten free in the cupboard – but final results were a big thumbs up as it tasted delicious!

I had discovered the recipe by pure fluke on Pinterest and instead of having to convert cups into grams it was already set out in grams – woo hoo!

Instead of using regular flour because I had none but no big deal.  I used Doves’ self-raising gluten & wheat free flour.  I just put in the same amount as stated in the recipe. On top of that, I added a teaspoon and half of Xanthum Gum and a teaspoon of Baking Powder.

25271539375_412914031f_o

The results were pretty spectacular, and no one could tell the difference!

I made an orange juice icing by adding the juice of the orange and icing sugar together.  I made it quite loose and then put it in the fridge to set for about half an hour!  In hindsight, I wish I had another orange as I would put Zest on top for decoration!

24644753553_ecf8bf2138_o

The original recipe came from here.  The pin here.

emma signature

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own!

Leave a Reply

