One Potato, Two Potato

And hopefully, in a few months, we will have lots more!

Yes, it’s potato sowing time.  This year I’ve gone for a packet of Pentland Javelin (first early) and Bambino (second early).  Main Crop is “Cara” which is a good all rounder and I’m pretty sure we liked it a couple of years ago.  I’ve also got Shetland Black, which is another second early.

IMG_8471

Again I’m using potato sacks.  They’ve worked beautifully in previous years, and they are still intact, so why bother changing it?

For each packet, I use two potato sacks.  It’s good that I have a few potato sacks kicking about, so I can just line them up.

IMG_8469

I’ve also marked them, so it will avoid confusion when it comes to checking up on them and then at a later date, harvesting them.

Why Pentland Javelin?  We’ve had them before and enjoyed them plus I like the name.

Why Bambino?  With a name like that, it’s too hard to resist!  Bambino is Baby in Italian, and I like to mix it up every year.

On Friday past, I bought three 40L of compost for £10 from Klondyke, plus the seed potatoes. So it came to under £25.  I don’t think I will use all the compost for those two packets, and will just use the leftovers for the veg boxes at a later date.

As an addition, I’ll add some potato fertilizer … I need to get this.

IMG_8468

There’s nothing like a home grown crop.  Can’t wait until these beauts are ready for harvesting!

2 comments

  1. Happy gardening to ya….I have to wait a tad longer here in Northern Canada, but I have been enjoying all the folks showing me their own spring gardens. I await the growth and stories of your potatoes this season… Last year I had a store bought potato starting to root in the bag, so I threw it in some soil and waited.. One potato went in and 12 came out… Oh what fun!
    Take care, Laura

Leave a Reply

