Today’s Homemade Lunch

This morning I am making soda bread and smoked mackerel pate for today’s lunch.

For both recipes I’m using “The Fabulous Baker Brothers” book.  I’ve used the soda bread recipe from the book before and it was delicious. 

For the Soda Bread, I turned the oven up to 230 with a metal tray inside.  I have to make sure that the oven is at the required temperature as you have to work fast because of the bicarbonate of soda in the baking powder will run out of gas!  

Once the oven has heated, I add:

300g wholemeal spelt flour, a big pinch of salt, 2 tsp baking powder and lastly 230ml of buttermilk to my Kenwood mixing bowl.

                                       

I find using my kenwood quick and less messy with this bread as the dough is quite wet and i want to ensure that the bicarb has the effect the dough requires.

                                        

Mixing all the ingredients, the dough is shaped on a floured surface and with a scraper, cut a cross deeply into the dough.

                              

Work quickly with the dough and pop it on to the heated baking tray and bake for 15-20 or until it has a golden top and sounds hollow went you tap the bottom.  I bake mine for 25 mins just to ensure it’s baked!

                              

                                           Above: On the hot baking tray!

                              Below: A golden brown, freshly baked soda bread!

                              

If you are using your hands for bring the dough together make sure you form the dough quick and get prepared before attempting to start the recipe.  Success is all in the prep!

The Genius of this mackerel pate is that it looks so easy to prepare and it is!

To the food processor I add: 200g smoked mackerel fillets (which have been de-skinned and checked for wee bones); 50g creme fraiche; Juice of half a lemon; 5g of parsley (I used from the jar);  salt and black pepper

                                          

I pulse it until it comes between a smooth and course consistency and serve with the homemade soda bread.

                             

This all takes about 30-45mins to prepare and bake.  Just remember let the bread rest for about 30 mins – it’s worth the wait!

I’m serving the soda bread & mackerel pate with some rocket leaves dressed with olive oil and seasoned with salt & pepper.

                                 

Now the fun part … EATING!

Leave a comment